The Church of the Nativity was founded on February 10, 1847 when the parish was organized and vestry members elected. For years prior, Episcopalians in Maysville used the Council Chamber of the old Market House for worship with visiting priests who were sent into the district. The church, a Tudor Gothic brick and stone building designed by the Rt. Reverend Benjamin B. Smith, first Bishop of the Diocese of Kentucky, was built on a Third Street lot and completed in 1849. The exterior of the church remains essentially unchanged with the exception of a large stained glass window added in 1891. Nativity is the oldest standing church building in Maysville. (more)
The Reverend Roxanne Ruggles
Mother Roxanne was installed as Rector at the Church of the Nativity in December 2018 after serving as Priest-in-Charge since December 2016. Although she was ordained to the priesthood in 2010, she brings a lifetime of experience in the church to her work with us. Before her ordination, she served in a variety of administrative positions in several churches. Roxanne has two grown sons and four grandchildren.
Mother Roxanne is happy to answer questions about the Christian faith or Episcopal tradition. She may be contacted at 606-564-5850 or email@example.com.
31 East Third Street
Mail: P.O. Box 3
Maysville, KY 41056